Houses Awards 2018


The 2018 Houses Awards shortlist has been revealed.


Developed by Australia’s leading residential architecture magazine, Houses, the annual Houses Awards celebrate the best of Australian residential architecture and design.

Each year, the shortlist provides integral insight into the country’s highest calibre of contemporary design and visionary professionals with the 2018 program receiving the highest number of entries to date, with 477 submissions. This is an increase of 7% on last year.

The shortlisted projects and eventual winners are selected by an esteemed panel of jurors from across the country, acknowledge excellence in nine categories and awarding one house the prestigious title of, Australian House of the Year.

The awards categories are:

  • New House under 200 square metres
  • New House over 200 square metres
  • House Alteration and Addition under 200 square metres
  • House Alteration and Addition over 200 square metres
  • Apartment or Unit
  • Garden or Landscape
  • House in a Heritage Context
  • Sustainability
  • Emerging Architecture Practice

Editor of Houses magazine and 2018 juror, Katelin Butler commented:

“The shortlisted homes in this year’s Houses Awards reveal the high calibre of contemporary Australian residential architecture. It’s great to see our talented architects and designers experimenting and challenging the status quo, resulting in a series of surprising and delightful architectural moments.”

The announcement of the 2018 Houses Awards, including the prestigious Australian House of the Year, will be celebrated at the awards gala night held at The Ivy Ballroom in Sydney, on 27 July. Tickets will be available via the Houses Awards website.

For more information visit